Home        About       News       Library       Contact

4-Tests Method
A method developed by CAI for identifying the reserve components to be included in a reserve study

The four tests are as follows:
  • The asset has a limited life
  • The asset is not already covered under a maintenance contract
Components typically are:
  • a) common maintenance responsibility;
  • b) with limited Useful Life expectancies;
  • c) have predictable remaining useful life expectancies; and
  • d) are above a minimum threshold cost; and e) as required by local codes.  
The number of assets will vary significantly depending on the size and complexity of the building, such as

See also: